Time Flies…

After a dull day sitting at home watching the rain fall and trying to be grateful that at least it means that I don’t have to go out and water the allotment, I have decided that what my 35:35 Challenge needs is something of an adrenaline kick.

So, I’ve decided to have a go at flying. Now, I know I’m not Icarus, so I will be using some kind of contraption to get myself (and more importantly, keep myself) airborne.

A glider is a bit like a plane without a motor:Yorkshire Gliding Club.

Whereas a paraglider looks to me like a parachute with a seat at the bottom : Learn to Paraglide | Active Edge.

I’m assuming you know what a hot air balloon looks like.

I will try one of these – once – to see what it’s like. Who knows, it might be the start of something great. Or, it might help me get reacquainted with whatever I had for breakfast that day. There’s only one way to find out!

My question I put to you now, is which one to choose? They all scare the hell out of me, but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. And before anyone suggests it, I am not doing a parachute jump. To paraphrase Woody from Toy Story, that’s not flying, it’s falling with style…

2 Comments to “Time Flies…”

  1. I’d love to fly in a hot air balloon! You could of course return to paragliding, gliding or even having a helicopter lesson at some later point in your challenge year! But I would have thought that this time of year would be your best bet for hot air ballooning (when it stops raining, of course!)

    We’re just back from a week’s holiday, and I came back to your email – thanks very much! We’ll speak again in July about the B&M project for August 🙂

    Kirsten x

    • I am quite scared – the baskets at the bottom never look big enough to me! But that’s half the point of it really, to live a little bit larger. Not too sure about a helicopter though, I can barely parallel park…
      It would be great to chat about M&B – I am looking forward to posting a picture of them on this blog! I hope you had a lovely holiday and it wasn’t as rainy as it is here.
      Speak soon,
      Liz x

Leave a Reply

