Quernus Crafts

This is a slightly different post to my usual writing, because today I’d like to introduce you all to Coco Chanel…in polymer clay form.

Coco Cat

Coco Chanel is a commission of mine from the incomparable Kirsten Miller of Quernus Crafts. There’s more detail here about her and how she was made: Quernus Crafts: Coco Chanel Cat (b.8 April 2011). I do love the story of Coco Chanel, although I know she wasn’t an altogether pleasant character, she is fascinating to read about and I think that Kirsten has captured her attitude perfectly. I only wish I could afford that outfit myself!

Some of you may remember that I previously asked her to make me a Captain Robert Falcon Scott cat for my lovely sister in law, and here he is:

Scott of the Antarctic

There are a few more photos of him here: Quernus Crafts: Scott of the Antarctic Cat (b.18 February 2011). Scott Cat is very much loved and is now proudly exploring the sitting room of Sam’s new home.

I love looking through the website to see what new commissions people have requested, they’re so unique and personal to each individual. The combination of over-active imaginations and Kirsten’s  talent seems to mean that nothing is impossible! For those of you who don’t want an individual commission, she also makes the most adorable mice, cats and other assorted characters, particularly for celebrations. The Christmas mice are my favourites. The detail on these figures is even more astonishing when you see them for real. Which probably explains why I seem to have developed something of an obsession with presenting Kirsten with new challenges and we’ve agreed on a couple of new commissions – one to celebrate the launch of this very blog, and another secret one for Christmas which I am HUGELY excited about…

If you get the chance, Kirsten is going to be at the Made- It Craft Fair this Saturday, 2nd July in St Margaret’s Hall, Horsforth, Leeds, LS18 5LQ. If you can’t get along to that, then do visit her website Quernus Crafts to have a look at all the wonderful characters she has created, and maybe buy one for yourself!

4 Comments to “Quernus Crafts”

  1. Love it! I would love one of my departed dog Purdy.

  2. Thanks so much for this, Liz – I had so much fun making these two, and I can’t wait to get started on the next commissions 🙂

    Kirsten x

    • They are very much loved – and I can’t wait to see the new additions! I think I need to build a “Quernus” shelf in my house for my expanding collection…

Leave a Reply

