Let’s get physical!

Hello folks.

It’s been a while since I posted anything here. Life is pretty hectic, although truthfully, I’ve spent much of the last couple of weeks sitting on the sofa watching other people expend energy – at Wimbledon and now the Tour De France.

Watching incredible sports people at the peak of physical fitness and determination, and even after witnessing today’s sad accident that has just befallen Bradley Wiggins of the Team Sky Pro-cycling team, my interest has been fuelled in undertaking more physical challenges and seeing what my body can achieve. Even clearly lots of pain after breaking a collar bone, Wiggins was already talking about when he would be fit enough to start training. What amazing dedication. He was in such great shape, with a chance of the yellow jersey this year and now we’ll never know. I wish him a speedy recovery.

My relationship with my body changed so much after having children, especially the first time around when my baby daughter and I nearly died. The fundamental shift in my thinking happened after this, as many of the things which I had been self critical about really ceased to have the same power over me.

I can have children. This is the biggest and most amazing thing my body has achieved, for which I will be eternally grateful. I cannot get into a pair of size ten jeans (although for a brief shining period of last summer, I could) but it doesn’t matter. Nor do I have the greatest skin, having both a few spots and now wrinkles. Who knew you got both at once? I thought I’d move seamlessly from one skin problem into another, not that they’d just pile up on top of each other! But anyway, although I do have a weakness for lovely skincare products, it doesn’t bother me in the way it once did. After two emergency c- sections, I have tram line scars across a stomach which on a bad day resembles pink blancmange anyway, so a couple of wrinkles are really neither here nor there. What matters more, is not what my body looks like, but what it can DO.

I can walk, run, dance, swim, ride a horse. I can dig my allotment. I can sing (terribly, but with gusto) while I’m in the shower. I can carry my kids around on my shoulders. One at a time, you understand, I’m not the Hulk. I can cuddle them both at once though, which is lovely. I also seem to be popular for sitting on, whilst watching TV together,  and I can also watch films, read books, listen to music, play games. I can eat, drink and be merry. I can explore the world and climb to the top of the Eiffel Tower.

But what interests me now, is what else could I do? Could  I run a marathon? Get back on a bicycle, for the first time since a childhood accident put me off for life? Climb a mountain? Where are my limits? It would be great to know what I can achieve with this one body, with its scars and wrinkles!

Well, I’ve decided to take some inspiration from the sports people I have been watching. The bike has been taken out of storage ( thanks to my lovely friend Hannah who left it with me after she emigrated) and is being prepared for my first wobbly trial. The running has increased to three times a week in preparation for the Yorkshire 3 Peaks challenge to raise money for Bliss (the premature baby charity) which is now in the diary for September and I am even contemplating Cycletta in October – which is a women-only 40k cycle ride on closed roads for charity. Assuming that I make it past those first rides and find someone willing enough to be my team mate, that is!

So, 35:35 Challenge has taken on a distinctly physical feel to it. For now, anyway. Other things are still in progress, including the flying and music. More on which another day…

2 Comments to “Let’s get physical!”

  1. It is so encouraging to know that there are others doing Cycletta that are not ridiculously fit and cycling 20 hours a day! I’m really looking forward to this event – we shall have to look out for each other on the day!

    I look forward to reading more about…..everything!

    Hope you don’t mind, but I’ve put a link to your blog on my own.

    Carol

    • Hello there, a link is lovely, I’ll do the same for you too. I’m absolutely not fit – full time job, two small kids and loads of other interests means there’s just no time for fitting a lot of exercise in. I’ve just joined a gym with plans for doing some spin classes on their Livestrong bikes which are obviously not the same as getting on an actual bike (which I’m planning to do next week) but at least I’ll start to get used to the saddle ( and a sore bottom, ouch!) and hopefully build up something like some strength in my legs! I still have to work out how exactly I’m going to fit in the classes into my day…

      It will be great to keep up with you until the big day and hopefully cheer each other on a bit round the course. I’m most looking forward to a cup of tea and a massage afterwards!

      Bye for now, Liz

Leave a Reply

