Titanic Spa and Hamman massage.

This, although something I’ve not done before, still feels like rather an easy win for my 35:35 Challenge. I’ve decided that this is a good thing, for two reasons. Firstly, I have a heck of a lot of challenges to get through by June so it’s a good job that some of them are easy and secondly, the next few up are going to be significantly harder. Plus, the main reason I needed a massage in the first place was because of my very sore shoulders from all the Cycletta training I’ve been doing!

Titanic Spa is an Eco Spa in Linthwaite, near Huddersfield, built inside an old textile mill. As such, it’s a pretty imposing building to drive up to. Luckily the welcome, although a little chaotic due to the number of folk checking in, was warm and friendly. I’ve been before, but only for a day visit. This time, after a full day in the spa, we spent the night in one of the apartments. To make the best use of the amazingly high ceilings they have created a mezzanine floor for our bathroom and bedroom with a sitting room and kitchen underneath. If we’d known about the kitchen we would probably have brought extra food with us for breakfast the following morning. Although croissants and cereal is provided, I think my husband would have enjoyed a fry-up, Yorkshire bloke that he is!

The Spa itself is on the ground floor and comprises Club Titanic which is a gym (you can also become a member to use more regularly too) and a pool and sauna. The other main element to the spa is the Heat and Ice Experience together with lots of treatment rooms. The product lines used are of the highest quality; Elemis, Carita, Jessica and Decleor, plus the newly added organic line, Pinks Boutique. Three Degrees Hair Salon is located next to the reception, together with a store for you to purchase any of the products that you experienced during your treatments.

Lunch and dinner are served in the Bistro in the middle of the building, and my experience of the food was completely positive. Lunch is a buffet, with several salads, plus a meat or veggie main. If you stay overnight, you can eat a great two course evening meal, usually included as part of your package. Although, I have to confess, I ordered wine and pudding too…

After our arrival and an hour in the gym (more training!) and short while in the Heat and Ice Experience, it was time for my Hamman massage. The Hamman (or Hammam in Turkish) treatments are carried out in a private room off the Heat and Ice Experience, so they are at absolute humidity and are designed to compliment the time you are spending in the various steam and sauna rooms during your stay. As a qualified massage therapist, not only do I believe absolutely in the power of massage, I have high standards and expect to receive a great treatment. The one thing I cannot bear is too light a massage, I need to feel as though my muscles are really being manipulated properly. As my young, slender therapist introduced herself, I have to confess, I  was worried that she was going to be too light of touch for my liking. Thankfully, my fears were unfounded. As I explained that my shoulders were really in need of a bit of work, she tailored the treatment to suit my needs.

Rather than the usual padded bench usually used in massage, Hamman treatments are given on a warm wooden plinth. The warmth of the wood helps ease your muscles, but it is somewhat harder to lie on, which is why these treatments are generally lighter than something like Swedish massage. However, thankfully, my shoulders were given a lovely deeper tissue massage too, which really helped to unknot them after too much uphill cycling. The treatment time was not long, only half an hour, but the effects were felt long after the massage had finished.

Overall, my experience of Titanic Spa was a very positive one. There were a couple of little niggles; the Ice Room not working and the Aromatherapy Room smelled like no essential oil I have ever come across, but these are not enough for me to think any less of it and everyone there seemed to be having just as good a time as we were! There are quite often offers to be had through various websites, which make it a great value stay and every treatment I have had there has been of the highest quality (particularly the Decleor Aromassage) so well worth the extra payments.

So, I recommend a visit. I am planning my next one very soon…

Leave a Reply

