35:35 Challenge update

I thought I’d just add a quick Challenge update here. Although I’ve not been writing a lot about it, I have been working hard on the Challenge.

On 10th September, I will be climbing the Yorkshire 3 Peaks; 26 miles of walking, with three significant climbs ( they’re not quite mountains, but challenging enough!) within 12 hours. I’ll be doing this to raise money for Bliss, the premature baby charity and will add a JustGiving link from this site in case anyone would like to support us.

In October comes Cycletta, a 40km women only bike ride around Tatton Park on the outskirts of Manchester. This is going to be particularly challenging for me, as it’s only recently that I’ve got back on a bike since a stupid childhood accident put me in hospital and put me off the bike for good. When I was younger, I used to ride my bike all the time. One particular day, I was riding down along, steep and gravelled hill from a family friend’s farm. The sun was shining, the wind was in my hair (no helmet in the eighties!) and riding downhill felt like I was flying. So, (and here comes the stupid part) to make it feel even more like I was flying;

I closed my eyes…

As you can imagine, moments later, I hit a massive rock in the middle of the road and shot off the side of the bike, into a ditch. Not my brightest moment, and until recently, the last time I rode a bike. So, Cycletta is a big challenge.

Following these two physical challenges come a few different ones. I am signing up for both a falconry session and a silversmithing course. Fashion  has long been important to me, and I have decided it’s time to make more of a practical leap, so silversmithing, and then some other fashion related course  may follow.

Along with carriage driving, which is something I’d love to try. Horses are a long term love. In fact my degree is a BSc Hons in Equine Science and Management ( which, as you can imagine, is terribly useful in the wider job market but still remains a highlight of my life) but riding is a source of frustration as my personality means I don’t ever want to devote the amount of time to one subject that it would truly take to become as accomplished as I’d like.

I’ve decided that my final undertaking, and a fitting end to the Challenge will be the flying. Previously, I asked which method of flying I should try and the result of the poll was hot air ballooning. So, I’ll be doing that next May or June as a final flourish to the year and hopefully as number 35 in my Challenge list!

2 Comments to “35:35 Challenge update”

  1. This is really inspiring and how fab are you overcoming the challenge of getting back on a bike again – not to mention the 26 miles up hilland down dale – happy to sponsor when link is up.
    Never done the carriage driving but can recommend the hot air ballooning enjoy!
    Look forward to seeing you at Cycletta and good news is there are not too many hills..
    Julie

    • Hello! Thank you – a sponsorship donation would be incredible. My daughter was born 10 weeks’ early ( I had severe pre-eclampsia and HELLP syndrome and it was our only option) and Bliss helped us out a lot during a terrifying and completely life changing time.
      I’ve heard nothing but good things about hot air balloons, but I have to admit I’m quite scared! Might even be more scary than the bike…
      Very much looking forward to seeing you too. It’ll be here before we know it, and certainly before I’m fit enough for it!
      Liz

Leave a Reply

