Yorkshire 3 Peaks and a request.

Hello all,

This is a bit different to my usual posts, because it comes with a plea for money.

As you know, in my 35th year of life, I am undertaking a challenge to do 35 new things. Most of them are just for fun, or to try something to see if I might like to take it further. This one is different. On 10th September 2011, along with my husband, and my wonderful sister and brother in law, I will be climbing the Yorkshire 3 Peaks. This is a 26 mile walk, to be completed in 12 hours or less, taking in the three largest peaks in the county : Ingleborough, Whernside and Pen Y Ghent.

I’m doing this, firstly because I’ve never done it before, so it counts as a challenge, but also to raise money for Bliss, the premature baby charity. On November 10th 2006, my daughter was born 10 weeks too soon. I had really severe pre-eclampsia and HELLP syndrome and so, to save our lives, she had to be delivered immediately. Weighing in at only 2lb 11oz, she spent the next nine weeks in the Neo-natal Unit at our local (and truly wonderful) St James’ University Hospital, Leeds.

Here she is, about a month after her birth – I didn’t want to show you the really scary photos.

We spent the whole time sitting by her incubator, and on Christmas Day we took in a giant sack of gifts for her from our amazing family and friends. On New Year’s Eve, we were in the hospital at midnight to show her the new year fireworks and share our wishes for the upcoming year with her.

Despite a couple of setbacks, she finally came home to us in January, weighing 5lb 4oz.

You can just about see her in the car seat!

It was the most terrifying time of our lives, throughout which we were supported by Bliss who helped us to cope with what was going on, both in the hospital and back at home. Thankfully, at the age of two, Eve was signed off by the Child Development Unit at the hospital and is now a beautiful, perfect and very bright four year old, about to start primary school.

So, it would be wonderful if you could support me in my fund-raising attempt to walk the Yorkshire 3 Peaks.

The JustGiving link is here: http://www.justgiving.com/Elizabeth-Holdsworth

I’ll be posting photographs and a story of the day here once it’s finished – assuming I get back in one piece!

Thank you so much.

One Trackback to “Yorkshire 3 Peaks and a request.”

Leave a Reply

