10 Questions.

This is the first time I’ve been asked to do one of these. I’m a little nervous, not least because I read the original post and it mentioned things like ‘linky’ and ‘meme’. I do not know what these are. (Note to self: find out, sharpish)

So, thanks to the lovely Rhiannon at A Hell of A Woman (who has spent the day making me smile and has great taste in TV shows) I have been tagged, and here are my answers.

1: Describe yourself in 7 words:

Friendly, helpful, busy, scanner, interested (in everything) and untidy (at this point, I ran out of ideas and asked my husband – he said ‘wonderful’ but I think he knew what I was doing, so I don’t think it counts.) I’ll settle for organiser, as my last word.

2: What keeps you awake at night?

Can I put my son? Because at the moment, it’s my son. He’s two and a half and wants to sleep with MUMMY and not in his own bed. Apart from that, the  usual things keep me awake – money, time, the end of the world, something happening to my kids, whether I sent that last work email and what I need to remember for the next morning. And cold toes. I cannot sleep if my toes are cold.

3: If you could be anyone for a day, who would it be?

Ooooh, this is HARD. I’d love to be someone like Grace Coddington. Or Karl Lagerfeld. Or, Mary King, the Olympic three day eventer. Or, and I don’t have a specific name in mind, but I’d like to be the kind of journalist who gets to review things of luxury – spas, hotels, restaurants – all in the name of work. It turns out I have a long list of people I’d like to be. I did not know that.

4: What are you wearing right now?

Giant stripy cardigan with a button missing from Gap, vest top, black leggings and odd socks. I am basically an unrecognised style icon. Also, I was on my way to bed when I got this link, and being the dedicated blogger that I am, came back downstairs to type. Had I known that this was going to be a question, I’d have got changed into something with sequins…

5: What scares you? 

See my answer to 2, above. Environmental disaster, something happening to my children, injustice, famine, war. All the big stuff. Cheery, no?

6: What is the best and worst thing about blogging?

Hmm, the best is that I have unlimited space to write what I like, even when the grammar is poor and my subject matter is dull. I am also really enjoying meeting lots of new people from all over the place and, in some cases, meeting them in real life too! The worst thing is that sometimes I get lost with terminology, technology and IT (I mean, what IS a meme?…seriously, I have no idea) plus I need a lot more time to balance this with a full time job, two small kids, an allotment and a bunch of other stuff that I want/like/need to do in order to function as a normal, happy human being.

7: What was the last website you looked at?

Well, apart from the very blog that sent me this link, it was 4OD. I love on-demand TV. In fact, I watch the majority of my TV when the rest of the world has already seen it. Which means I’m very rarely in those live-stream Twitter conversations, but it does mean that I can balance a healthy TV habit with the rest of my life!

8:If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

If you’d asked me this question a few years ago, I would probably have given you a great big long list of things. As I reach my mid-thirties, there is little I’d change physically. Even my hair, which I spent the majority of my teenage years battling with, I’ve grown to like. My c-section scars are a reminder of my history and my stretch marks likewise. I’d quite like to be a bit fitter, as at the moment I’m battling with some odd foot problem, which is stopping me from exercising. If I could change ONE thing though, it would be to get rid of the keratosis pilaris on my upper arms. The reason I don’t wear sleeveless. Pah.

9: Slankets: yes or no?

What is a slanket?

10: Tell us something about the person who tagged you.

Rhiannon from A Hell of A Woman is a mummy blogger with a Buffy The Vampire Slayer obsession (see, told you she had great taste in TV) but who thinks she has style closer to that of Sue Heck from The Middle than the lovely Buffy (which I’m sure isn’t true). She’s the mother of two, a fan of cake and (in her own words) ‘a secret coveter of a real life that matches her imaginary life!’ Go and spend some time on her blog, she’s written some great stuff on there and is embarking on something of a life challenge, which is fabulous.

So, in accordance with the rules, I have to tag someone else, and so I’m going to tag Musings from a Mum, as I’ve just started to chat with her on Twitter, and I’d like to get to know her a bit better. I now have to go to the original post by Super Amazing Mum and leave a comment.

That’s that then. I’m off to Google all the things I don’t know about…

Tags:

3 Responses to “10 Questions.”

  1. I do love your writing. It’s really frank and honest but also really funny and very endearing. Now I’ve just got to find a big ol’ chunk of time so I can go through all your previous posts x hope you’re having a good night (and not snoozing) at the film festival x

    • Thank you! I’ll be keeping up with your blog too. I know how you feel about finding the time for blog reading! It’s always a challenge fitting everything in. I’m going to do a quick post on the film on Monday – fingers crossed!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

