Kindness

I got a parcel in the post today. A small parcel with a huge significance.

Inside it was this:

A bottle of glittery Deborah Lippman nail polish with a sachet of remover and a little card from Ruth at Minibreak Mummy.ย Ruth and I have never met. I know she has a great blog, is lovely and chatty on Twitter and that we share a very similar taste in books ย from our friendship on Good Reads. I also know that her sister set up Beauty Box Swaps for people to exchange things that they’ve received in their beauty box (Glossy Box, for example) which is a great idea and one that I will probably be making use of myself soon!

After a weekend spent thinking about the future of my blog, the point of Twitter, and various other ‘how-the-hell-am-I-supposed-to-fit-it-all-in-and-what’s-the-point-anyway?’ type thoughts, this little bottle of nail polish has renewed my faith that there are genuinely kind and lovely people out there, people who are my friends, even though we may never have met. People who perform such acts of kindness, just because they can. People that I would never have met (virtually or in real life) if it weren’t for this blog and the associated Twitter account. It’s helped me to realise that the future of my blog is just this. To be a record of my ‘Margot-and-Barbara’ life, and the people and events within in. So I can write when I have something to say, not just to fit into a self-created schedule. Anything else, wherever it ends up, can be the cherry on the top. Thank you so much, Ruth for the polish and for making me realise all this.

And the polish? I love it.

16 Responses to “Kindness”

  1. I’m feeling a warm glow reading this. So glad you like the nail polish! One day I hope we will meet up in person.

    • I share your warm glow! It really cheered me up so much, you have no idea.

      It would be such fun to have a little bloggers meet up…

      • The reason I sent it to you was I knew you would love it. And it would otherwise gather dust at my house.
        I’m very glad that my small parcel has helped to encourage you to keep writing your lovely blog and to keep tweeting.
        My sister Lucy has put a link to this blogpost on the Beauty Box Swaps facebook page, so you might get a few visitors from that direction ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. That polish is gorgeous! And of course you have to keep going! Too many twitterers would miss you!

  3. That’s really lovely and a fab nail colour! Enjoy and keep writing ๐Ÿ˜‰ x

  4. It was really a pleasure reading this

  5. Love the colour ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a big fan of purple ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. thats lovely i hope you enjoy polishing your nails and enjoy and keep writting your blogxx

  7. I have so gone through the same thought process as you “what’s the point” etc and then deciding like you that to do it for me not anything else. What a lucky lady you are to have found a gem out there in the web some times you don’t need to met someone to know they are you friend.

    • Yes, you’re completely right. I do it just for me, because I have to write these days – if people read it, then that’s wonderful, but at the very least it’s a record for me. Minibreak Mummy is a gem – as are many other lovely people I’ve met online. I know that there are bad folk out there, but I am blessed.

  8. dont stop writing!!!

    but wear the nail polish as you type!

    x

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

