Favourite Oscar Frocks.

A special, additional post, just for my Twitter friend @Hennie07 who wanted to know my views on the Oscar dresses!

There must be nothing more terrifying than getting dressed for a giant global audience, and I applaud everyone who made it down the red carpet without incident. The only thing I can compare it to is my own wedding day, when I was fortunate enough to have my wedding dress individually designed and made for me. Of course, my audience (apart from all the people who happened to be at Nostell Priory on the day) were people who loved me, not those waiting to tear me apart. So, for that reason, I’m only adding photos here of dresses that I particularly loved. There will be no mention on my blog of the ones I hated, although I will go as far as questioning what on earth Angelina Jolie’s leg was doing, as it seemed to have developed a mind of its own over the course of the evening…

I had a really quick look through the dresses at lunchtime and this is very much an instinctive reaction. No time for pondering over them for ages. I am sad that I didn’t think better of Livia Firth’s dress, as I know it’s part of her Green Carpet Challenge to wear ethical and environmentally friendly clothing, but it just wasn’t a favourite for me this time around.

Anyway, without further ado, here are my favourite dresses of the Academy Awards 2012.

Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen

Emma Stone in Giambattista Valli

Penelope Cruz in custom Giorgio Armani

Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Shoji

Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford

I think my absolute favourite is the Tom Ford dress. The chic simplicity of it, coupled with the cape, makes for a stunning change from all the sequins and flounce of many a red-carpet dress. Gwyneth makes it look effortless, although there has no doubt been a lot of backstage preparation!

Emma Stone’s Giambattista Valli is gorgeous. Yes, it’s got a giant bow on it, but the cut and colour are perfect for her, and I love the boldness of it.

Octavia Spencer’s Tadashi Shoji dress was for me, a brilliant example of dressing well for the red carpet with a curvier figure. I loved her acceptance speech too, so honest and heart-felt. What a night she must have had!

I know that Penelope Cruz’s dress is exactly what I denigrated above, as it is pretty flouncy – but hell, it’s a princess frock, isn’t it? If I got a red carpet opportunity, this is probably what I’d wear!

Sarah Burton cannot put a finger wrong, and this heavily embroidered McQueen dress on Jessica Chastain is proof of that. It’s stunning. It would have been amazing to see some more British designers showcased – Mary Katrantzou, Jonathan Saunders, Erdem. Although, they might be a little too fashion forward for red carpets perhaps?

So, there we are. Do you agree with my choices?

One Comment to “Favourite Oscar Frocks.”

  1. Thanks so much for a blog just for me! I LOVE Oscar fashion! With regards to the Oscar frocks I always apply the filter of what “would I have chosen” dispensing with any connection to reality so its really “what would I have chosen if I had the body of Cameron Diaz” . So I have to say no to the big red bow as just not my style or the Alexander McQueen – not a big fan of black or gold but it would have made my faves if in a colour (pastel? bright?) and silver! I also loved Gwyneth although it breaks a lot of my rules about what I think of as Oscar appropriate; preferring colour and it has to look like it took months to make – bring on the beads. To my faves list I would also add Cameron Diaz (both ceremony and afterparty) and J LO (ditto) to my list. The rocks also need mention –– again prefer colour rather than diamonds (meh) so let me call out Victoria Beckhams cocktail ring. Again I have to flex my usual preference on accessories as the best piece of the night in my opinion was Gwyneth’s cuff. Obviously @margotandbarbara is far too nice and so I need to say: 80s black velvet NO! Polka Dots NO NO and anything that looks like foil NO NO NO! (The only exception to the foil being Miss Piggy in Zac Posen – can’t fault her ever). Thanks @margotbarbara!

Leave a Reply

