Saving up and sewing.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve made some travel plans. I really want to take my kids on a big trip when they are a bit older and so now comes the dull part – saving up. I’m awful at saving up, but I’m determined to try my best. I don’t want to miss the chance to visit the places on my long-held wish list and share an exciting adventure with my family, purely because I’ve spent all my money on magazines and takeaways. I have also asked a Twitter friend to act as my spending police, and she’s being rather vigilant, which is a good thing…

Of course, there lots of other grown-up and serious things that I spend money on too, but (apart from trying to get better deals on things) they are non-negotiable so I’m going to focus my efforts on the areas I can change.  Which is primarily food and entertainment. Food I’m going to tackle in another post. Today I’m going to tell you about my new plan. Which is to go back to attempting to learn crafts in order to enjoy my new Blythe hobby without it bankrupting me. Blythe is one of the most expensive hobbies I’ve stumbled into. And I talk as someone whose long term hobby is horses, for heaven’s sake. The point to the exercise is that it’s likely to take me four years or so to afford the trip I have in mind. That’s a long time to save. So, I’m hoping to still do the things I love, but in a more economical way!

Anyway, I’ve mentioned in the past that I feel as though I will never, ever learn to knit and I’ve shared my attempt at crochet with you. But I do feel reasonably confident that I might be able to sew. I had a lesson in machine sewing at the start of the year with the supremely talented Abi Manifold and I’ve been promised the loan of a couple of sewing machines so that’s all lovely (and free!) but the first step is to learn how to use a pattern to create something.

There are lots of free patterns for doll clothes online so I’ve printed one off and I’m using a bag of things I bought in a fit of enthusiasm a while ago to try and hand-sew a simple dress. In a week. Which to those of you who know what you’re doing must be laughable. But to me, is about as easy as performing surgery. You will notice from the photograph that I also have glue, but I’ll try my very best not to use this!

This time next week, I will either share a blog post with you in which I share my success or my failure. Fingers crossed…

4 Comments to “Saving up and sewing.”

  1. Nothing wrong with using glue in sewing! Quick dab of glue on an awkward seam/embellishment – iron and then sew if/as required. Have fun with the sewing, look forward to seeing the results.

    I will confess to being one of those annoying people who can save – my biggest tip is to set up a savings account with a bank other than your current account (use moneysavingexpert.com to look for straight forward savings account with a good interest rate, or if you don’t have an ISA for this year open one of those and then put money you’re saving into that account. If there is an emergency and you need to get at it you can but it’s tucked away enough for you not to keep dipping into it. It’s something I’ve always done but the last couple of years have done it for furniture for our new house and it made a big difference when we did move. I sold stuff on ebay and put the profit after fees and postage in there, used Quidco & put the cashback in there. Sold things through other online sites and in person, money in there, refund after complaints, in there etc. It all added up. We also keep our 5p, 2p and 1p coins and pay that into our ‘holiday fund’ account to top up our holiday money. Good luck – happy to help with ideas/sorting out these suggestions if I can.

  2. Thank you so much for this ace comment Helen! And for your advice – I do have a cash ISA and will be putting some money into there each month. The key is, as you say, that I can’t get hold of it easily and spend it again! I’ll be coming to you for advice now you’ve said all this – consider yourself my savings expert 🙂

  3. You can do it hun x

Leave a Reply

