Goodrington Sands, Devon.

In my last post, I said that I would attempt to make a doll’s dress in a week and then post my results up here. Those of you who read this blog regularly might have noticed that I’ve not posted for over a week now. That’s because during the week in which I was going to sew a dress, I actually went to Devon. Which I knew I was going to be doing when I wrote the post. Sometimes I baffle even myself with my idiocy.

So, the dress is half made – but it is in progress which is still something worthy of a celebration and the content of a post for later. Today I wanted to talk briefly about my trip to Devon and in particular about Goodrington Sands.

Goodrington Sands is a stretch of beach in Paignton, and it has the richest rock pools I’ve ever come across. We regularly go rock pooling with the kids in the summer, searching for crabs, little anemones and other sea life in the still pools of water left behind when the tides are low. In Robin Hoods Bay, we’ve had some success at finding crabs and limpets, but nothing much beyond that. But at Goodrington Sands, I saw so much more. Starfish, anemones, hermit crabs, blennies and sea urchins to name but a few. We even saw an anemone on a hermit crab shell, in a real life version of Julia Donaldson’s beloved children’s book ‘Sharing A Shell’ which was a brilliant moment for me. I know the words to that book off by heart, because of the number of times I’ve read it! The Seashore Centre, right on the edge of the sands, and run by the Torbay Coast and Countryside Trust, was a great place to learn a bit more about the things we’d seen.

Starfish

The whole of the Torbay area is the English Riviera Global Geopark, which was designated to protect the geological important of the area, but also to promote responsible geo-tourism. Even we were able to find fossils just in the afternoon we were wandering on the beach having a quick look for them. On a sunny October afternoon, with the waves crashing into the shore, it felt pretty much a perfect place to be and if you’re interested in marine biology, geology or sustainable tourism, it’s definitely worth spending some time there. I travelled by train, and the Brunel designed train line runs right by the coast. On my way there,  after about five hours’ of travel and just when I was ready to fall asleep, I was greeted with the beautiful sight of the sunshine glinting off the sea. Wonderful…

The view through my train window.

Obviously, please be responsible when you’re out rockpooling – be careful on slippery rocks and seaweed, and make sure you don’t take any sea creatures away. Don’t keep them out of water and always carefully return them to their habitat.

4 Comments to “Goodrington Sands, Devon.”

  1. Beautiful photos!

  2. Love rock pooling, we used to spend hours as kids doing exactly that. In fact I think we had more fun and preferred rocky beaches to ones with miles of sand. Haven’t been to this part of Devon though so will keep it in mind.

    • It’s a great little beach. There’s not much else there, apart from a little ice cream place, but I’ve really never seen better rock pools. It’s worth an afternoon of your holiday, I think!

Leave a Reply

