Slow Blogging

Hello there,

It has been over a month since my last post. Just realised that sounds a bit like I’m at a Bloggers Anonymous meeting, but nonetheless, it’s true.

Big changes in my personal life, the usual work/life pressures and a desire to spend more time on the Sage & Thrift project are the main reasons  but to be honest, I’m also struggling to write. This blog has been my hobby for two years now. In that time, it’s brought me so much joy. But for the past month, phrases like ‘I must blog, I haven’t written anything for ages, I need to catch up’ have been on an endless loop in my head.

And yet, when I look out of my window, there is a noticeable absence of people waiting to break down the door and demand that I write a blog post. All the pressure is self-imposed. Since being nominated in the Blog North Awards – the best feeling ever – I’ve wanted to build on that success. To create an upwards trajectory, write more, gain more readers. It seems that the gods didn’t agree with that plan!

Previously, my three times a week schedule worked for me, but it’s no longer practical. I’ve been re-reading ‘In Praise of Slow’ by Carl Honore, which is one of my favourite books, and now I’m wondering if there could be such a thing as ‘Slow Blogging’? Not sure if it’s a complete contradiction in terms, but I think that fewer, more considered posts would count as ‘Slow’ – do you?

I’ve been striving to live Slowly (capital S intended here) in the rest of my life; seasonally, locally, taking time to consider the things that are important in my life, stepping away from technology sometimes and spending time on face to face interactions, not entering into lots of consumerism, and so on. It’s not always successful, but being considered in my approach to these things has brought me lots of happiness and it’s a cornerstone of Sage & Thrift too. Now I think I want to try to do the same with my blog. To slow down, take a breath and reconsider what it is about it that has always brought me such happiness in the past.

I like the idea of just writing once a week, and taking my time over each post, rather than trying to churn out a lot of content, purely to meet a self created schedule. It would enable me to work on Sage & Thrift (which I have big plans for) and make sure that when I do post something, it’s genuinely because I want to, not because I feel that I should, must, have to. I want to regain the feeling of joy that this blog has always given me and step away from feeling panic-stricken because life has got in the way of my three-times-a-week blogging schedule.

So, that’s the plan. I’ll be writing once a week, about the usual jumble of things that I’ve always written about, but I’ll do my best to make sure that each post will be worth your time reading. And, yes, I realise that even once a week is a self-imposed schedule. Old habits die hard. However, this will give me a way of fitting the blog into my life in a way that makes it pleasurable, and not a stick to beat myself with. You never know, it might be only temporary. I might suddenly find a fit of energy and write every day!

I joked about ‘Bloggers Anonymous’ but this has felt a bit like a therapy session for me. Thanks for reading. Normal, albeit ‘Slower’ blogging will resume shortly …

11 Responses to “Slow Blogging”

  1. Great post. Blog at your own pace – sometimes it’s not about the numbers and trying to get more likes than the next person, but more about what it is you want to say.

    The once-a-week posting schedule sounds fine, but don’t sweat it if it’s becoming a burden. Our, if you feel inspired, schedule up a post or two, that way you’ve got a buffer to give you some space.

    I know I’m not alone in enjoying your posts and would rather see them continue at your pace rather than disappear completely.

    • Thank you – I am going to see how I get on with the weekly posts – and it helps when I get invited to events, as it gives me a ready made post – but I’m not going to worry if I miss one. Good idea to stack up ideas for when the ideas well runs dry, I need to get better at that!

      • I tend to open a new post, stick a few thoughts in and save as draft. If you get stuck, open your drafts folder and see if anything takes your fancy.

        Or stick a poll up, see what people want you to talk about?

  2. I have turned into a slow blogger too, for similar reasons. I enjoy it more if I only blog when I feel like it. There’s no point in just treating it as just another thing on your to do list.

  3. You have to find the pace that suits you, if you do too many or too few the quality will suffer. If daily works then great but I’d be surprised if that is optimum for many.
    I like the idea of having a slow philosophy throughout your life, seasonal food is also something I’m trying to embrace. I’ve seen the slow blogging concept mentioned a bit recently, I bet there is a meme going all about it as we speak 🙂

    • There was something on Tots100 apparently, but it was a while ago and I missed it, typically! Seasonal food is a great place to start with embracing slower living – I speak as someone who has eaten asparagus at every meal for a week!

  4. If you’re too busy writing about it, you’re not actually doing it! It’s like people who take photos of everything and see nothing. I’m lucky if I can summon a blog post every two weeks!

    • That’s so true – I wrote a post a while ago about people who seemed to take photos on holiday without actually stopping to pause and consider what it was they were actually looking at right at that moment!

      All too easy to get caught up in a whirl of recording without really living.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

