Three Good Things: Week Three

It’s already week three of Three Good Things, and I’m really enjoying taking some time out of my busy day to think about what I am grateful for. I’ve been so overwhelmed that other people want to join in with this series of posts too. It’s been such a wonderful, unexpected result.

So, here are this week’s Three Good Things!

One: Angelmaker.

The first of my three things this week is a novel. It’s been a while since I read a book so wonderful that it absorbed me from the very first page. Nick Harkaway’s ‘Angelmaker’ is such a book. I’ve been re-reading sentences just for the pure pleasure of wrapping the language around my brain and sneaking off to quiet corners  to dip into it whenever I get the chance.

It’s the story of Joshua Joseph Spork, a clock repairer who tries to live a quiet life in London and keep himself removed from his father’s crooked legacy , and of Edie Banister, a retired super-spy. A mysterious automaton is brought back to life and the end of the world is threatened. Cue lots of intriguing narrative, hidden, mysterious places in London, movements between time periods and lots of well-developed, sympathetic and fascinating characters. It’s fun, thrilling, and something of a rollercoaster ride. I’m only half-way through so don’t give me any spoilers, but right at this point, I’m utterly loving it.

What I really love about great fiction is that it completely reduces my mind to the present. There is no planning, no anxiety, no over-thinking. Just the words spilling from the page in front of me.  And, no matter what problems I’m facing in the real world, there usually is a fictional character who is having a worse day than I am, which is something of a comfort!

IMG_6846

Angelmaker, shown here with a few other things that make me happy!

Two: Instagram fun.

I’ve been really enjoying using Instagram recently. Joining in with Fat Mum Slim’s photo-a-day challenge has changed the way I use the app quite a lot and I’ve discovered lots of new people to follow and be inspired by. Having to think more about the subject that I’m photographing (to fit with the day’s prompt) is making me view my surroundings more carefully, with a new, more appreciative eye. I’ve also been trying really hard to learn about composition, even when just using my iphone to take photographs. Suzannah Conway is hosting August Break on her blog and via IG soon too, and I hope to be able to join in with the daily photo prompt there, even though I doubt I’ll be able to add them all to my blog! Using photo-a-day challenges is a great way for me to stretch my photography learning, find new people to follow on Instagram and feel really positive about how I use the app.

One of my Photo A Day entries for the prompt 'Number'.

One of my Photo A Day entries for the prompt ‘Number’.

Three: Whistles linen top.

My last thing of the week is a new piece of clothing. I rarely buy new clothes, and each piece has to be quite well considered before I part with cash. In the recent sunshine we’ve been having, I’ve struggled with my wardrobe, as I seem to dress mainly for winter! So, I took the plunge and invested in a navy and white striped linen top from Whistles. It has a loose fit, boat neckline and bracelet length sleeves and I’ve been living in it. Chances are if you see me this summer, this is what I’ll be wearing…

Shameless self-portrait. If you see me this summer, I’ll be wearing this!

So, those are the things that have brought me joy this week.

Why don’t you visit A Hell of a Woman and Nyssapod, to discover what they’ve chosen this week.

What are your Three Good Things?

8 Responses to “Three Good Things: Week Three”

  1. A trio of great things this week! I am going to share my three things with you from my holiday.
    1) a 25 mile bike ride with ‘N’ around Weymouth and Portland. Not been on a bike for 8yrs, inspired by people on twitter, especially @ianstreet. A great achievement for me and enjoyable.
    2) Seafood – not a big eater of fish, however I seem to have been eating all types of seafood since I’ve been near the sea, we even took the kids crabbing (all returned once caught I hasten to add)
    3) going with the flow. By this I mean being more spontaneous, saying ‘yes’ more, doing things at the spur of the moment, and not worrying about anything.

    (should have put a lot more, but hard using my phone! I as usual have enjoyed reading you blog Liz, thank you) x

    • Hi Chris! Thank you so much for your lovely comment and three great things! Sounds like you’ve had a great holiday 🙂 Going with the flow is a great state to be in, I completely agree with that sentiment.

  2. I love your three things. Your photo project sounds great. Really like your number photo. It’s amazing how something as simple as a road sign can look fabulous when captured in the right way!

    I’ve linked up. http://mummyplum.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/three-good-things-1.html

    • Thank you! I’m really enjoying doing the photography project, it’s making me look more carefully at my world 🙂
      Your post is beautiful – I’ll comment on your blog and link up with you next week 🙂

  3. I’m loving your photos – they always seem so beautifully framed and elegant! I’m in again this week with http://ahellofawoman.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/three-good-things-week-3.html

  4. Great self-portrait! You look so cool with the sunglasses and the stripes 🙂

    I’ve just done a very quick one this week http://www.nyssapod.net/2013/08/three-good-things-week-three.html

    x

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

