Three Good Things: Week Four

Welcome to this week’s edition of Three Good Things!

I can’t believe it is week four already, time really does fly…

One: Orange is the New Black.

My first good thing this week is a TV series. And when I say a ‘series’ its because I watched every episode pretty much back-to-back! ‘Orange is the New Black‘ is a show created by Netflix, which means that you have to subscribe in order to watch. But given that this series, based on a true story and set in a women’s prison, manages to be simultaneously funny, heart-wrenching, terrifying and endearing all at the same time,  it’s completely worth it. Or you could do what we did and get a free month’s Netflix trial to watch the show!  Though, we’ve ended up keeping Netflix, because it’s actually great for those of us without a TV.

I do love it when a TV show steals my heart so much that I want to completely immerse myself in it. I can’t remember the last time that happened to me. Maybe it was The West Wing?

The show is now multi-Emmy-award nominated and series two is already in the pipeline, which I’m already impatient about. Highly recommended.

Orange Is The New Black (image: netflix)

Orange Is The New Black (image: netflix)

Two: My new bag!

My second good thing this week is my new Fjallraven Kanken bag. It was a gift to me, and I love it. In my humble opinion, it’s an iconic design. It’s really simple,  with one large main section, a smaller front pocket and an extra zip-out part at the back which increases the capacity to be big enough for me to fill it with enough stuff that I can barely carry it. Each Kanken comes with a little seat pad too, which came in very handy this week when I had to wait half an hour on a seat-free platform for a delayed train…

Me with my Fjallraven Kanken Maxi waiting for a train...

Me with my Fjallraven Kanken Maxi waiting for a train…

Three: Cardboard Lions.

My last good thing this week is a cardboard loo roll. Well, several loo rolls, in fact. Covered in yellow paint and made into lions, they are the proof that I am ok at craft. And a decent mother to boot. I’m going to blog a bit more about this later on, but I wanted to share this today, because I’m really happy with how they turned out, and the kids were thrilled. The inspiration for these came from a lovely blog called  A Patchwork Life, and we are hoping to keep going through the summer holidays, with a different animal each week until we have a cardboard safari!

Fabulous cardboard lion!

Fabulous cardboard lion!

Do have a look at the lovely ‘Three Good Things’ posts from Nyssapod and A Hell of A Woman.

What are your Three Good Things this week? 

10 Comments to “Three Good Things: Week Four”

  1. Good choices mine are:

    1 – time off work with very few things planned allowing me to get lots of sewing done, including a cushion and a handbag – which I’m proudly using every day.

    2 – using more of my time to make the most of my membership at the local leisure centre – 2 aqua, 1 deep water aqua and 2 total tone classes & 1 swim over 7 days – I ached a lot! Most weeks I manage 2 or 3 things so this felt really good.

    3 – Having lovely conversations with fellow sewers on twitter – I love sewing but so much nicer when you can share with fellow ‘enthusiasts’.

  2. Cardboard Loo Roll Animals is a great idea! We’ve made Egg Box Monsters, which yours might like doing as well. Also, you should totally make some Cardboard Loo Roll Minions – I bet they’d look AWESOME!!
    http://ahellofawoman.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/three-good-things-week-4-including-how.html

  3. Love your cardboard lions- and the idea of creating a menagerie of animals over the summer. Your bag looks great. I’m always in the market for a good travel bag – esp one that can fit a laptop without looking too ‘laptop bagish’!

    I’ve linked up again this week :0)

  4. Love your bag and your loo-roll lions! Will look into netflix when I move into my new house (hopefully in a few weeks)

    I was struggling a bit this week – then I had a fun trip to the charity shops on Saturday and found three good things in one go! http://www.nyssapod.net/2013/08/three-good-things-vintage-and-retro.html

  5. hello my lovely hope you are well my stupid arse blog has been dropping blogs off my list again but like a bad penny i tracked you down and found you again how rubbish am i, just takes me time to find all the missing bloggers.

    PS i really loved orange is the new black im looking forward to the new series they are bring out next year

  6. hello there may i know what is the color of your kanken? It’s a gorgeous one. Thank you in advance x

Leave a Reply

